Minutes of the Annual General Meeting
    of the Ashtead Village Club held on
    Wednesday 18 April 2012

The meeting commenced at 8:20pm with the President, Mr Robert Gibb taking the chair. The minutes were taken by Mr William Adams, Honorary Secretary.

  1. To confirm the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 20 April 2011.

  2. Proposed Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith, seconded Mr Anthony Shackleford that these are a true record. Vote unanimous.

  3. To consider the statement of accounts for the year ended 31 December 2011.

    The Treasurer presented the accounts to the meeting. After a proposal by Mr Peter Whiting, seconded by Mr Anthony Shackleford the meeting unanimously accepted the accounts as presented.

  4. To receive a report of the President.

    The President after presenting his report presented life membership certificates to Mr Patrick Joseph Moran, Adrian Turner, Edward Yates, Bruce Keogh, Charles Ivitt Dickinson, Barry James, John Jones and James Brady.

    The President then asked the meeting to hold a minutes silence in memory for members who passed away last year; Keith Burgoyne, Bunny Haskins, James Donovan and Peter Le Fevre.

    This was respectfully observed.

  5. To receive the report of the Chairman.

    The Chairman thanked the members of the committee for their work on behalf of the membership during the past year. The Chairman noted that 2010 was a difficult year divided into 2 parts. In the first half things were looking grim but action taken by the committee with the help of the staff saw a turnaround of the club’s fortunes.

    The Chairman thanked committee for their efforts in 2011 and noted that this year was the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee and also the 125th anniversary of the club.

  6. Rule 3 - subscriptions for the year 2013.

    Proposed by Mr Paul Scoble seconded by Mr Peter Whiting they be raised to £20 and £10 for OAPs. Unanimously approved.

  7. Rule 2 - entrance fee for new members.

    Proposed by Mr Andrew Cunningham, seconded by Mr Peter Whiting they be waived for 2013. Vote unanimous.

  8. Rule 14 - Payments to committee members

    Proposed by Mr Anthony Shackleford, seconded by Mr Paul Scoble that rule 14 be suspended for 2013. Unanimously approved.

  9. To appoint three scrutineers for the ballot for the election of a president, vice president, chairman, honorary treasurer and 9 committeemen.

    As it looked unlikely that due to the lack of nominees an election would be required, it was proposed by Mr Peter Whiting and seconded by Mr Andrew Cunningham that the Secretary appoint scrutineers if needed. Vote Unanimous. Unanimous.

  10. To appoint an auditor.

    Proposed by Mr Clive Scott, seconded by Mr Andrew Cunningham that we retain Brown and Co. Unanimously approved.

  11. Any other business of which due notice was given

    As none was received the meeting closed at 8:43pm