Minutes of the Annual General Meeting
of the Ashtead Village Club held on Wednesday 20 April 2016

The meeting commenced at 8:23pm with the President, Mr Robert Gibb taking the chair. The minutes were taken by Mr William Adams, Honorary Secretary.
  1. To confirm the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 15 April 2015

    Mr Anthony Shackleford proposed the minutes are a true record. The proposal was seconded by Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith and was unanimously approved.

  2. To consider the statement of accounts for the year ended 31 December 2013

    The Treasurer after making his report answered questions from the floor.
    Mr Ray Welsh questioned the club insurance policy. The treasurer replied that we used the CIU recommended insurers which was written especially for clubs. Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith asked about disposal of assets. The treasurer replied that as the club had a good year, he took the opportunity to write off old redundant machinery.
    After a proposal by Mrs Wyndham Ventham-Smith which was seconded by Mr Anthony Shackleford the meeting unanimously approved the accounts.

  3. To receive a report of the President

    The President thanked the committee and staff for their efforts on behalf of the club in 2015.
    The President presented life membership certificates to Mr Robert Adams, Mr Christopher Seagar-Thomas, Mr Colin Redman and Mr David Buckland.
    The meeting held a minutes silence was held for the members who sadly passed away during 2015; Mr Ron Benjafield, Mr Joseph Cuddihy, Mr Fred Nebbett and Mr William Sherry.

  4. To receive the report of the Chairman

    The Chairman thanked the committee for their efforts during the past year and also club members Mr Wyndham and Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith for organising the senior members' outing, Mr Barry Channell for club signage, Mr Ben Haynes and Mr Dennis Saunders for the race days and Mr Andy Collins for running the raffle.

  5. Rule 3 - subscriptions for the year 2017

    Proposed by Mr Paul Scoble seconded by Mr Marcus Beecher that the subscriptions remain unchanged for 2017 with the proviso that all new members must purchase a door entry key fob. Unanimously approved.

  6. Rule 2 - entrance fee for new and lapsed members.

    Proposed by Mr Andrew Cunningham, seconded by Mr Doug Robinson the entrance fee be waived for 2017. Unanimously approved.

  7. Rule 14 - Payments to committee members

    Proposed by Mr Paul Scoble seconded by Mr Colin Redman that rule 14 be suspended for 2017. Unanimously approved.

  8. To appoint three scrutineers for the ballot for the election of a president, vice president, chairman, honorary treasurer and 9 committeemen.

    As this year an election proved likely Mr and Mrs Ventham-Smith, Mr Barry Channell and Mr Doug Robinson agreed to act as scutineers.

  9. To appoint a trustee

    Mr Paul Scoble's proposal which was seconded Mr Andrew Cunningham that Mr Anthony Shackleford be re-elected as a trustee was unanimously approved by the meeting.

  10. To appoint an auditor

    Proposed by Mr Clive Scott, seconded by Mr Dave Spence that we retain Brown and Co was unanimously approved.

  11. Any other motions with due notice

    As no notice was given under any other business, the meeting closed at 9.00pm.