Minutes of the Annual General Meeting
of the Ashtead Village Club held on Wednesday 16 April 2017

The meeting commenced at 8:20pm with the President, Mr Robert Gibb taking the chair.
  1. To confirm the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 20 April 2016

    Mr Anthony Shackleford proposed and seconded by Marcus Beecher that the minutes are a true record was unanimously approved by the meeting.

  2. To consider the statement of accounts for the year ended 31 December 2016

    After the Treasurer made his report, a proposal by Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith seconded by Mr Anthony Shackleford that the accounts be accepted was unanimously approved by the meeting.

  3. To receive a report of the President

    The President thanked all who had helped during 2016, such a successful year for the club.

    The President presented certificates to new life members Mr Derek Atkinson, Mr Robert Cooper, Mr Peter Newman and Mr Richard Scott.

    The President asked for the meeting to stand for a minutes silence for the members who passed away in 2016 Mr Robert Atkinson, Mr Barry Jarvis and Mr Anthony Moody. This was respectively observed.

    Mr Matthew Haynes was presented with the Clubman of the year trophy.

  4. To receive the report of the Chairman

    2016 was a good year but not as good as 2015 but the club showed a healthy profit. Special thanks to the new social committee for bringing fresh ideas. Thanks to the members and committee the club can look forward to a successful 2017.

  5. Rule 3 - subscriptions for the year 2018

    Proposed by Mr Paul Scoble seconded by Mr Chaz Earp that the subscriptions remain unchanged for 2018. Unanimously approved.

  6. Rule 2 - entrance fee for new and lapsed members.

    Proposed by Mr Paul Scoble, seconded by Mr Anthony Shackleford the entrance fee be waived for 2018. Unanimously approved.

  7. Rule 14 - Payments to committee members

    Proposed by Mr Marcus Beecher seconded by Mrs Alison Schaus that rule 14 be suspended for 2018. Unanimously approved.

  8. To appoint three scrutineers for the ballot for the election of a president, vice president, chairman, honorary treasurer and 9 committeemen.

    As this year an election proved likely should a ballot be necessary a proposal by Mr Andrew Cunningham seconded by Mr Marcus Beecher that the Secretary should appoint the scrutineers.

  9. To appoint an auditor

    Proposed Mr Clive Scott, seconded Mr Andrew Cunningham that Brown and Co be retained as Auditors unanimously approved.

  10. Any other motions with due notice

    Proposed by Mr Chaz Earp seconded by Mr Grant Reid that rule 11 be amended that no nominations be allowed for the position as President, Vice President, Chairman, Treasurer or Secretary unless they have served a term on the committee.
    Proposed Mr Chaz Earp seconded by Mr Wyndham Ventham-Smith that a visitor or memberís guest shall not be admitted more than 12 times in any calendar year.
    Both motions unanimously approved.

    The meeting closed at 9:00pm