Minutes of the Annual General Meeting
of the Ashtead Village Club held on Wednesday 17 April 2019

The meeting commenced at 8:15pm with the President, Mr Peter Whiting taking the chair.
  1. To confirm the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 18 April 2018
  2. A proposal by Mr Wyndham Ventham-Smith and seconded by Mr Robert Gibb that the minutes are a true record was unanimously approved by the meeting.

  3. To consider the statement of accounts for the year ended 31 December 2018
  4. The treasurer having made his report, Mrs Pam Ventham-Smith proposed that the accounts be accepted after the proposal was seconded by Mr Doug Robinson the accounts were unanimously approved by the meeting.

  5. To receive a report of the President
  6. After making his report, the President asked for a minutes silence to be observed by the members present in memory of club members who sadly passed away in 2018; Ray Cooke, Ian Francis, Harry Hunt, Louis Munt, Patricia O’Riordan and Paul Spicer. This was respectively observed.
    The President then presented life certificates to Terry Bartlett, Keith Murray, Dennis Saunders, Don Norton, James Shires, Stuart Fraser and Kenneth Stephenson.

  7. To receive the report of the Chair
  8. The Chair thanked the outgoing Social Committee for their innovative ideas and hard work in the past year. The Chair reported that as the club was doing well money would be spent on improvements. The Chair also thanked Dave Spence for work done for the club.

  9. Rule 3 - subscriptions for the year 2020
  10. A proposal by Mr Chaz Earp, seconded by Mr Dave Spence that the subscriptions for 2020 remain the same was unanimously approved.

  11. Rule 2 - entrance fee for new and lapsed members.
  12. Mr Paul Scoble proposed and Mr Robert Gibb seconded, that the entrance fee for 2020 be waived was unanimously approved.

  13. Rule 14 - Payments to committee members
  14. Proposed by Mr Chaz Earp seconded by Mr Doug Robinson that rule 14 be suspended for 2020. Unanimously approved.

  15. To appoint three scrutineers for the ballot for the election of a president, vice president, chairman, honorary treasurer and 9 committee members.
  16. As it looked unlikely that, due to the lack of candidates there would be any need for elections this year. If this were to change, the Secretary would appoint scrutineers.

  17. To appoint an auditor
  18. Proposed Mr Clive Scott, seconded Mr Wyndham Ventham-Smith that Brown and Co be retained. Unanimously approved.

  19. To appoint a trustee
  20. Mr Robert Gibb was proposed by Mr Peter Whiting, seconded by Mr Dave Spence. There being no other candidates Mr Robert Gibb was elected as a trustee.

  21. Any other motions with due notice
  22. None received.

    The meeting closed at 8:38pm